SBP reveals Gilas 12 for Thailand game

The Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas (SBP) has announced the 12-man lineup for the Gilas Pilipinas Men’s Team that will see action in the first game against Thailand in the second window of the 2021 FIBA Asia Cup Qualifiers on Friday, November 27, at 9 pm (Philippine time).

The squad that will be led by head coach Jong Uichico will be bannered by the four youngsters who were selected from the 2019 PBA Rookie Draft in Isaac Go, Rey Suerte, Mike Nieto, and Matt Nieto.

Joining them are Justin Baltazar, Kenmark Carino, Javi Gomez De Liano, Juan Gomez de Liano, Dave Ildefonso, William Navarro, Kobe Paras, and Dwight Ramos.

SBP President Al Panlilio has expressed his excitement on how the young team would fare against a group of professionals from Thailand in the FIBA Asia Cup Qualifiers.

“I am excited because it’s only gonna level up Philippine basketball with this experience,” Panlilio said. “I’m excited to see who among these players will be there in 2023 competing for slots with PBA veterans. It will be nice to see a split between these young men and some PBA veterans.”

Calvin Oftana, Jaydee Tungcab, and Allyn Bulanadi will be on the sidelines but the first two could still see action for the second game should the coaching staff make the adjustments. Bulanadi will be sitting out the entire window after injuring his shoulder in training.

The Philippines currently holds a 1-0 record in the qualifiers after defeating Indonesia during the last window. They’re playing two games against Thailand to make up for the postponed game that the Philippines was supposed to host last February.