Everything you need to know about the FIBA World Cup qualifiers draw

The draw for the 2023 FIBA World Cup 2023 Qualifiers is right around the corner. But what is the FIBA World Cup and what is the purpose of the draw? Why are there qualifiers? Here’s a short guide on what you need to know about the event.

When is the FIBA World Cup Qualifiers Draw?

The FIBA World Cup Qualifiers Draw will happen on August 31, 2021 at 6:00 PM (Philippine Time). The event will be LIVE on One Sports and One Sports+ at 6:00 PM, with a same-day telecast on TV5 at 10:30 PM. Livestream will also be available on One Sports, One Sports+, SBP, and Smart Sports Facebook pages.

What is the FIBA World Cup?

The FIBA World Cup is the flagship tournament of the International Basketball Federation, formerly known as the FIBA World Championship. The event, which began in Argentina in 1950, is a global competition for different nations’ basketball teams.

When is the 2023 FIBA World Cup?

The 2023 FIBA World Cup will run from August 25 to September 10, 2023.

Where will the tournament be held in 2023?

The Philippines will be hosting the 2023 FIBA World Cup with partner countries Indonesia and Japan. Similar to China’s eight cities, the tournament’s group phase will take place in all three countries. The final phase will be played in Manila, Philippines.

The 2023 FIBA World Cup will be the second time the Philippines will host the tournament — the first time was in 1978. The 2023 edition will be the first time in history that the FIBA World Cup will be hosted and played in more than one country.

Who gets qualified for the FIBA World Cup?

The qualifying teams are selected from a number of factors. The top-ranked teams who participated in their FIBA Zones’ Local Cup are qualified to join the World Cup.

There will be six windows over the next 15 months across four zones (Africa, the Americas, Asia-Oceania, and Europe). Eighty national teams are set to participate in the qualifying tournament, but only 32 will advance to the World Cup.

The first window is scheduled from November 22 to 30, 2021, while the last window will run from February 20 to 28, 2023. The European Pre-Qualifiers in February 2020 kickstarted the preparation for the 2023 World Cup.

What is the FIBA World Cup Qualifiers Draw for?

The FIBA World Cup Qualifiers draw is an event that determines the groupings of the participating countries in the different FIBA zones: Africa, the Americas, Asia-Oceania, and Europe.

There are 80 countries that will enter the draw, categorized by zone, and these teams will be divided into different pots based on their respective rankings. The pots will then be distributed into different groups, which will serve as their matchups for the World Cup Qualifiers.

Is the Philippines already qualified for the FIBA World Cup 2023?

As one of the three hosts, the Philippines is automatically qualified for the FIBA World Cup 2023, along with Japan. Indonesia, on the other hand, will claim its guaranteed spot if it reaches the quarterfinals of the FIBA Asia Cup in 2022.

What countries will be playing in the qualifiers?

A total of 80 countries will vie for the 32 slots in the 2023 World Cup. Africa, the Americas, and Asia-Oceania have 16 eligible teams each, while Europe has 32. Each zone is allotted a certain number of World Cup berths. Africa has five slots, the Americas have seven, Asia-Oceania has eight (including Philippines and Japan), and Europe has 12.

The countries who will be competing are as follows:


  • Angola
  • Cameroon
  • Cape Verde
  • Central African Republic
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Cote D’Ivoire
  • Egypt
  • Guinea
  • Kenya
  • Mali
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • Senegal
  • South Sudan
  • Tunisia
  • Uganda


  • Argentina
  • Bahamas
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Cuba
  • Dominican Republic
  • Mexico
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Puerto Rico
  • Uruguay
  • US Virgin Islands
  • USA
  • Venezuela


  • Australia
  • Bahrain
  • China
  • Chinese Taipei
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Korea
  • Lebanon
  • New Zealand
  • Philippines
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Syria


  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Great Britain
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Montenegro
  • Netherlands
  • North Macedonia
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine